 |
Looking from behind the French lines at the end of turn three |
The French grand battery fires at II Infantry Corps on the ridge, the corps having Wellington with it, which makes him a potential casualty. The relevant modifiers are: general of artillery in the same hex as the battery, +1; infantry using the reverse slope as cover, -1; muddy ground, -1. A die roll of 6 is therefore needed, but it lands as a 2.
I win the dice-off (5-2, after a 3-3 tie) to see who goes first.
I start by moving Wellington a hex to his right, from where he orders the commander of I Infantry Corps to enter the Hougoumont hex, taking a division with him, and then to attack the French on Hougoumont's outskirts. This time the order gets through, and from Hougoumont the French are attacked in the hex where their corps commander is located.
The Allied modifiers are: two supporting divisions in the same hex, +2; corps commander in the same hex, +1; enemy has a supporting division, -1. Total: +2.
The French modifiers are: one supporting division, +1; corps commander in the same hex, +1; enemy has two supporting divisions, -2; enemy position fortified, -2. Total: -2.
I roll a die for my base, getting a 3, which, thanks to the modifiers, becomes a 5, meaning no hit is suffered (actually, with modifiers of +2 it is very difficult to suffer a hit as 2 or lower is needed for that to happen).
Napoleon rolls a 4, which, thanks to the French modifiers, becomes a 2, meaning the corps has suffered a second hit. This is resolved by another throw of 4, which means the French base has a choice of losing a strength point or retreating a hex, and Napoleon chooses the latter.
This raises a grey area in the rules of Bob Cordery's The Portable Napoleonic Wargame.
At one point, partly in bold type, it is stated that a commander in the same hex as a base that is hit must roll to see if he has become a casualty.
But immediately before this comes: "If a commander is co-located with a unit that must retreat and it is able to do so, the commander retreats with that unit."
It is clear, from earlier wording, that Cordery means "base" rather than "unit," as in his big-battle rules four bases (and a commander) form a unit and can be spread out over several hexes, as long as the hexes are contiguous.
However, what is not clear is whether the unit commander should dice for the possibility of being a casualty, in addition to retreating, as the base has suffered a hit, although not lost a strength point.
Reg and I discussed this briefly, but we quickly agreed that a commander should only test if a strength point is lost.
I repeat my orders to IV and V Infantry Corps to each come together in a single hex, but in both cases the orders apparently fail to get through.
Napoleon instructs the French I Infantry Corps to continue its assault on Hougoumont (there is no provision in the rules, as far as we can see, for breaking off once hex-to-hex contact has been made).
The assault occurs after the corps commander first advances with the division that fell back. The result, somewhat predictably, is the same as in the previous half-turn, ie my men are unscathed but the French suffer a hit. This time it is resolved as the compulsory loss of a strength point (luckily for the French, this is not from the base that has already lost 1SP), but then a double-6 is thrown to see what becomes of the corps commander, meaning he is killed, and so the French lose a further 3SP.
Both French cavalry corps fail to advance, yet further evidence of shoddy staff-work (and poor dice-throwing by Reg).
III Infantry Corps bunches up into a single hex, alongside II Infantry Corps, but IV Infantry Corps fails to act on a similar order.
Strength-points remaining: French, 98 of 103SP; Allies, all 84SP.
 |
Napoleon (foreground) watches the continuing assault on Hougoumont |
 |
Overall situation at the end of turn four |